Waiting for my turn…

 

Everyone is taken,
I am left alone.
The taken are replaced, 
Every now and then.
I make friends with them,
And they leave too, soon.
There i sit alone, 
waiting for my turn.
Nightmares of the day,
hunting me from within;
Nightmares of dying-
A purposeless sad life;
Of not seeing the world,
Other than this cage;
Of being put to sleep,
By profit seeking creep.
Every time someone walks-
Through this pet store doors,
I hop on my sorry feet,
That keep me behind.
Wishing for a home,
With sad little eyes,
I am the limp puppy,
No one really wants.
***
-K. C.

in response to daily prompt, “nightmare”

image source :
logo - Copy
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mom Sees All says:

    This breaks my heart, but as with all tragedy, turning a blind eye doesn’t make it disappear. Thank you for reminding us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kacy says:

      🙂 well said…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

